Who I follow and what they do

David Carr

David Carr has always been one of my favorite writers. He’s raw. He’s not afraid to say how he feels. He’s a damn good journalist.

When I found out he had a blog on The New York Times’ website, I had to follow it. His book was brilliant, so why not get more of his opinions on what’s happening in the world.

I got more than I bargained for.

In his blog, The Media Equation, Carr talks about different topics that are in being discussed by multiple media outlets around the globe.

This week, he posted two blogs about two very different topics. Ray Rice has been dominating headlines, including Carr’s latest blog. Carr also discussed how Apple has kept winning more customers through its meticulous planning.

Now, Carr does not have a comments section on his blog, and I actually agree with this practice. Blogs are usually people’s opinions. I don’t think it’s fair to have a comments section because the majority of the comments would be negative and would probably tell Carr that he is wrong. That’s not OK if we want to have a free press and if we want to allow people their First Amendment rights of free speech.

Carr’s blog is updated weekly. He does link to a lot of articles and facts, and I appreciate that because I don’t know everything that has happened in the world. He definitely does his research. The headlines are also engaging. They make you want to read more about the topic.

Carr’s posts are not very scannable, but that’s because he’s a very traditional journalist. I appreciate the long form narrative style that he has in his posts. If I’m going to read a blog at all, it’s more likely that I’ll want to sit and read it without scanning. If I’m reading anything at all, I’d care about it and want to spend time with it.

Depth, style and storytelling are definitely Carr’s strengths. He’s meant to be a writer, a longer form kind of guy.

Sometimes, though, it’s difficult to make it through some of his posts because they are so long. They’re almost a thousand words for the majority of them. That is a lot for someone who has school, work and a social life to deal with.

I don’t know that I would do anything different for Carr’s blog if it were my own. I think the long form style fits him and his personality that I can get through his writing.

Steve Buttry

Steve Buttry is someone that I’ve been following for a while as well. I’m not 100 percent if he still works for Digital First Media or not, but he’s a good writer nonetheless. His blog, The Buttry Diary, has decent insight on what’s happening in the world of digital journalism today.

Buttry also wrote about the Ray Rice incident recently, but he went more on the way of using anonymous sources. He doesn’t have enough comments on there to really respond to many people yet. His blog about the gender advantage in journalism, though, has multiple comments and he does respond to them.

This journalist definitely does use good blogging techniques. He updates fairly frequently, if not daily, and does have tags and links to many other articles to back up his opinions. The headlines could stand to be a little more engaging, but he’s still a solid writer.

Buttry’s style is definitely more long form and analytical than most other bloggers I follow, and it’s all about journalism. His posts are more scannable than a few others, too.

I like that it’s all about the industry, and I feel like it helps me learn more about what’s happening in journalism and its future. Buttry is a solid writer and he’s good at relating things to the future of the industry while taking his analysis one step further.

I wish that his posts weren’t so long all the time, though. It’s a lot to wade through when I’ve missed a day. Like I said before, classes, homework, work and a social life are my priorities.

I don’t know that I would do much differently if it was my blog. Everyone has their own style, and I could definitely adapt mine to be more like his.

3 thoughts on “Who I follow and what they do

  1. I thought your post was great. It feels somewhere in between a long form narrative and a traditional quickly scanable blog, which would make sense with Carr being an influence upon you.

    There was a lot of text and hyperlinks, which I enjoyed. Additionally, I thought the sentences flowed well together and reading the post rolls right off the tongue.

    The voice of the blog was also a fair bit serious, certainly far more than myself or Nate’s at least. I feel this fits the largely text post well, if that is your intended style.

    I enjoyed it overall. It’s not necessarily my cup of tea, but it suits its purpose well. I’m more of an enthusiast for the whimsical and funny pictures on most of my blogs, but that’s just a personal preference.

    Like

Leave a Reply

